News
&
Innovative technology
  Linguistic expertise
    Customized service

Continued access to the latest NLP news.
Contact us

NLP Technologies
52, rue Le Royer Ouest,
Montréal, Québec,
Canada, H2Y 1W7
Phone: 514.733.8884
Fax:514.733.5554

Recent News

Join us for a tutorial on Applications of Social Media Text Analysis presented by Dr. Farzindar, CEO of NLP, at EMNLP 2015, September 18, Lisbon, Portugal




We proudly invite you to attend a tutorial organized by one of the most prestigious conferences in the computational linguistics community, EMNLP (Empirical Methods in Natural Language Processing). The 2015 EMNLP Conference will be held September 17–21, 2015 in Lisbon, Portugal.
The tutorial focuses on innovative applications of Social Media Text Analysis, and will be presented by Dr. Atefeh Farzindar, CEO of NLP Technologies and Dr. Diana Inkpen, from the University of Ottawa. For more information on EMNLP and registration, please visit http://emnlp2015.emnlp.org/
 

Applications of Social Media Text Analysis

Atefeh Farzindar and Diana Inkpen
 
September 18, 2015 – Morning

Abstract:

Analyzing social media texts is a complex problem that becomes difficult to address using traditional Natural Language Processing (NLP) methods. Our tutorial focuses on presenting new methods for NLP tasks and applications that work on noisy and informal texts, such as the ones from social media. Automatic processing of large collections of social media texts is important because they contain a lot of useful information, due to the in-creasing popularity of all types of social media. Use of social media and messaging apps grew 203 percent year-on-year in 2013, with overall app use rising 115 percent over the same period, as reported by Statista, citing data from Flurry Analytics. This growth means that 1.61 billion people are now active in social media around the world and this is expected to advance to 2 billion users in 2016, led by India. The research shows that consumers are now spending daily 5.6 hours on digital media including social media and mo-bile internet usage.

At the heart of this interest is the ability for users to create and share content via a variety of platforms such as blogs, micro-blogs, collaborative wikis, multimedia sharing sites, social net-working sites. The unprecedented volume and variety of user-generated content, as well as the user interaction network constitute new opportunities for understanding social behavior and building socially intelligent systems. Therefore it is important to investigate methods for knowledge extraction from social media data. Furthermore, we can use this information to detect and retrieve more related content about events, such as photos and video clips that have caption texts.

Instructors:

Atefeh Farzindar, Adjunct Professor, University of Montreal

Dr. Atefeh Farzindar is the CEO of NLP Technologies Inc. and Adjunct Professor at University of Montreal. She has served as Chair of the technology sector of the Language Industry Association Canada (AILIA) (2009-2013), Vice-president of The Language Technologies Research Centre (LTRC) of Canada (2012-2014) and a member of the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC) Computer Science Liaison Committee (2014-2015). Recently, she authored a book chapter in Social Network Integration in Document Summarization, Innovative Document Summarization Techniques: Revolutionizing Knowledge Understanding, IGI Global publisher January 2014.

Diana Inkpen, Professor, University of Ottawa

Dr. Diana Inkpen is a Professor at the School of Electrical Engineering and Computer Science at the University of Ottawa. Her research interests and expertise are in natural language processing, in particular lexical semantics as applied to near synonyms and nuances of meaning, word and text similarity, classification of texts by emotion and mood, information retrieval from spontaneous speech, extraction of semantic frames, and lexical choice in natural language generation. She published more than 25 journal papers, 85 conference papers, and 6 book chapters. She is an associated editor of the Computational Intelligence and Natural Language Engineering journals.

Nouvelles
&
UNE TECHNOLOGIE INNOVATRICE
  UNE EXPERTISE LINGUISTIQUE
    UN SERVICE PERSONNALISÉ

Dernières nouvelles sur les activités de NLP en accès continu.

Contactez-nous

NLP Technologies
52, rue Le Royer Ouest,
Montréal, Québec,
Canada, H2Y 1W7
Téléphone: 514.733.8884
Télécopieur.514.733.5554

Dernières Nouvelles

Venez nous rejoindre pour un tutoriel sur les applications de l’analyse de texte des médias sociaux présenté par Dr. Farzindar, présidente de NLP, dans le cadre du Congrès EMNLP 2015, 18 septembre à Lisbonne, Portugal




Nous sommes fiers de vous inviter à prendre part à un tutoriel qui se tiendra dans le cadre de l’un des plus prestigieux congrès en linguistique computationnelle, EMNLP (Empirical Methods in Natural Language Processing, en français: Méthodes empiriques en traitement du langage naturel). Le Congrès EMNLP se tiendra à Lisbonne au Portugal, du 17 au 25 septembre 2015.

Ce tutoriel traite des nouvelles applications de l’analyse de texte des médias sociaux et sera présenté par la Dre Atefeh Farzindar, présidente de NLP Technologies, et la Dre Diana Inkpen de l’Université d’Ottawa. Pour en savoir plus sur EMNLP 2015 et comment s’y inscrire, visitez le http://emnlp2015.emnlp.org/

Applications de l’analyse de texte des médias sociaux

Par Atefeh Farzindar et Diana Inkpen

18 septembre 2015 – Matin

Résumé :

L’analyse de texte des médias sociaux est un problème complexe auquel il est de plus en plus ardu de s’attaquer en utilisant les méthodes habituelles de traitement du langage naturel.
Le traitement automatique d’une vaste collection de textes des médias sociaux est important dû au volume de renseignements qu’ils contiennent dû à la popularité croissante des médias sociaux. L’usage des médias sociaux et des applications de messagerie a connu un taux de croissance sur un an de 23 pour cent depuis 2013. L’usage d’applications a pour sa part grimpé de 15 pour cent durant la même période selon Statista, citant des données de Flurry Analytics. Cette croissance signifie qu’il y 1,61 milliards d’utilisateurs actifs dans les médias sociaux dans le monde. On prévoit que ce chiffre se situera aux alentours de 2 milliards en 2016, avec l’Inde en tête de peloton. Selon les études, les consommateurs utilisent des supports numériques en moyenne 5,6 heures par jour, dont les médias sociaux et l’usage Internet mobile.

La capacité des utilisateurs de créer et de partager du contenu à partir de diverses plateformes comme les blogues et les micro-blogues, les collaborations sur Wikipédia, les sites de partage multimédia, et les sites de réseautage social se trouvent au centre de cet intérêt. Le volume sans précédent de contenu généré par les utilisateurs ainsi que les réseaux d’interactions entre utilisateurs représentent de nouvelles possibilités pour apprendre à comprendre les comportements sociaux et de bâtir des systèmes socialement intelligents. Il est donc important d’étudier les méthodes d’extraction de connaissances à partir des médias sociaux. De plus, les données ainsi recueillies peuvent servir à détecter et à exporter plus de contenu pertinent sur un événement, tel les photos et les extraits vidéo qui contiennent du texte en légende.

Formatrices :

Atefeh Farzindar, professeure auxiliaire, Université de Montréal

La Dre Atefeh Farzindar est la présidente de NLP Technologies Inc. et professeure auxiliaire à l’Université de Montréal. Elle a été chaire du secteur technologique de l’Association de l’industrie de la langue (AILIA) (2009-2013), vice-présidente du Centre de recherche en technologies langagières (CRTL) (2012-2014) et membre du Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie du Canada (CRSNG), Comité de liaison du CRSNG en informatique (2014-2015). Plus récemment, elle a rédigé un chapitre dans « Social Network Integration in Document Summarization, Innovative Document Summarization Techniques: Revolutionizing Knowledge Understanding » (Intégration des réseaux sociaux en génération automatique de résumés, les techniques novatrices de génération automatique de résumés: révolutionner la compréhension des connaissances), publié par IGI Global en janvier 2014.

Diana Inkpen, professeure à l’Université d’Ottawa

La Dre Diana Inkpen est professeure à l’École d’ingénierie et de technologie de l’information de l’Université d’Ottawa. Ses recherches et ses compétences sont en traitement automatique du langage naturel, notamment en sémantique lexicale appliquée aux quasi-synonymes et aux nuances de sens, similarité entre les textes et les mots, classification automatique de textes par émotion et humeur, extraction d’information à partir de discours spontané, extraction de cadres sémantiques, et choix lexical en génération du langage naturel. Elle a publié plus de 25 articles de revues, 85 documents de conférences et 6 chapitres de livres. Elle est rédactrice adjointe aux revues Computational Intelligence et Natural Language Engineering.