News
&
Innovative technology
  Linguistic expertise
    Customized service

Continued access to the latest NLP news.
Contact us

NLP Technologies
52, rue Le Royer Ouest,
Montréal, Québec,
Canada, H2Y 1W7
Phone: 514.733.8884
Fax:514.733.5554

Recent News

TAL journal will publish a special edition under the editorial supervision of Dr. Farzindar, CEO of NLP Technologies in cooperation with Université Montpellier



TAL journal and social networks
Vol. 54, no. 3

Natural language processing in social media analysis (TAL and social networks)
 
We are thrilled to announce that a special edition of TAL journal (automatic language processing in French) will be published under the editorial supervision of Dr. Atefeh Farzindar, CEO of NLP Technologies, and Dr. Mathieu Roche from the Université Montpellier 2, France.
This special edition addresses the challenges of social media analysis in automatic language processing by Farzindar and Roche. It features selected articles by Amitava Das and Björn Gambäck (Code-Mixing in Social Media Text: The Last Language Identification Frontier?), and by Eddine Dridi and Guy Lapalme (Détection d'évènements à partir de Twitter de Houssem, Event Detection on Twitter by Houssem). These articles reflect various ways of approaching the overall problem of automatic language processing in respect to automatic processing of social networks. Reading notes by Daniel Maurel are presented following the articles.
 
The Challenges of Natural Language Processing in Social Media Analysis

Atefeh Farzindar
NLP Technologies Inc.
52, rue Le Royer Ouest
Montréal (Québec)  H2Y 1W7
CANADA

 
Mathieu Roche
UMR TETIS (AgroParisTech, Cirad, Irstea)
Montpellier, FRANCE
&
LIRMM (CNRS, Univ. Montpellier 2)
Montpellier, FRANCE
 
 
Abstract:
In the context of social media content analysis, the unprecedented volume of textual data, its variety and user interaction network provide new opportunities to understand social behavior. The study of exchanged messages is a new challenge for natural language processing (NLP). In this context, this introduction to the special issue discusses different approaches and applications concerning social networks. New challenges for NLP in analyzing these new modes of communication are discussed.
 
About TAL

TAL (Traitement Automatique des Langues –automatic language processing) is an international journal that has been published by ATALA (Association pour le Traitement Automatique des Langues) for the past 40 years with the support of the CNRS. Over the past few years, it became an online journal, with an option to order paper versions. This does not affect the selection and review process in any way whatsoever.

Nouvelles
&
UNE TECHNOLOGIE INNOVATRICE
  UNE EXPERTISE LINGUISTIQUE
    UN SERVICE PERSONNALISÉ

Dernières nouvelles sur les activités de NLP en accès continu.

Contactez-nous

NLP Technologies
52, rue Le Royer Ouest,
Montréal, Québec,
Canada, H2Y 1W7
Téléphone: 514.733.8884
Télécopieur.514.733.5554

Dernières Nouvelles

La revue TAL présente un numéro spécial, sous la direction éditoriale de Dr. Farzindar, présidente de NLP Technologies en collaboration avec l’Université Montpellier



La revue TAL et les réseaux sociaux
Volume 54, Numéro 3

TRAITEMENT AUTOMATIQUE DU LANGAGE NATUREL POUR L’ANALYSE DES RÉSEAUX SOCIAUX (TAL ET RÉSEAUX SOCIAUX)
 
Nous sommes très heureux de vous annoncer la publication d’un numéro spécial de la revue TAL (Traitement Automatique des Langues) sous la direction éditoriale de la Dre Atefeh Farzindar, présidente de NLP technologies, et du Dr Mathieu Roche, Université Montpellier 2, France.
Dans le cadre de ce numéro spécial nos lecteurs trouveront un article sur les défis de l’analyse des réseaux sociaux pour le traitement automatique des langues par Farzindar et Roche, l’article sélectionné s’intitule « Mélange et alterance de code dans les textes des médias sociaux » (Code-Mixing in Social Media Text: The Last Language Identification Frontier?) par Amitava Das et Björn Gambäck ainsi que l’article invité « Détection d'évènements à partir de Twitter de Houssem » par Eddine Dridi et Guy Lapalme. Les travaux présentés dans ces articles reflètent différentes manières d’aborder la problématique générale du TAL face au traitement automatique des réseaux sociaux. À la fin de ce numéro, Denis Maurel présente ses « notes de lectures ».

Les défis de l’analyse sémantique des médias sociaux

Atefeh Farzindar
NLP Technologies Inc.
52, rue Le Royer Ouest
Montréal (Québec)  H2Y 1W7
CANADA

 
Mathieu Roche
UMR TETIS (AgroParisTech, Cirad, Irstea)
Montpellier, FRANCE
&
LIRMM (CNRS, Univ. Montpellier 2)
Montpellier, FRANCE
 

Résumé :
Dans le contexte de l’analyse du contenu des réseaux sociaux, le volume sans précédent de données textuelles, leur variété ainsi que le réseau d’interaction des utilisateurs représentent de nouvelles opportunités pour la compréhension du comportement social. L’étude des messages échangés constitue un nouveau défi pour le traitement automatique des langues (TAL). Dans ce cadre, cet article introductif au numéro spécial discute des différentes approches et domaines d’application pour traiter les réseaux sociaux. Les nouveaux défis du TAL pour analyser ces nouveaux modes de communication sont enfin discutés.
 
À propos de la revue TAL

Depuis 40 ans, TAL (Traitement Automatique des Langues) est un journal international publié par l’ATALA (Association pour le Traitement Automatique des Langues) avec le soutien du CNRS. Depuis quelques années, il s’agit d’un journal en ligne, des versions papier pouvant être obtenues sur commande. Ceci n’affecte en rien le processus de relecture et de sélection.